Panhandling as a sociological study

As of recent, I have been seeing a large number of people on the train who are panhandling. It is a stark example of how damaged the economy in and it is a fascinating phenomena that the people who give are mostly people of color, and if I had to guess as to socioeconomic strata, I would guess they are lower income. I have take to it as well. Just as a means to make it through the day. And the majority of people who give tell me, “I was there x years ago. It will get better. just keep your faith in God and he will see you through.”

Some comment on the side, never confronting me, remarks which run the gamit from, “he’s lying , to he get at least $100 a day,” those who do confront me, say, ” Why have you given up hope, work is up there (ie. outside) not down here.” Yet, these people don’t know that I am going to and from seeking employment ….
Such is the ego of men. They comment on that which neither concerns them nor harms or benefits them. Personally I view them as people who have no use. For none of them either offer help towards employment or cash or food just unqualified- undesired and an unapplicable that is meant to make them look big in the eyes of others present.
In, addition friend of mine who happens to be, who happens to be Caucasus stated that he receives money from people who are guess majority ethnic group? Caucasians.I on the other hand and the person of color and I receive money from guess which ethnic group….?
Not to say better are not exceptions to the rule, but they are exceptions.
From Salik Ul-Haqq, on the move.
ﻣﻦ ﺳﺎﻟﻚ ﺍﻟﺤﻖ ﺑuﻟﺮﺣﻠﺔ

Leave a Reply

